Pranayama – a way to get connected!


My favorite aspect of Kundalini yoga today (because it always changes) is the breath work. Before any actual poses – sitting and focusing on the breath allows us to drop into the here and now, reacquainting ourselves with our higher-self. It feels good to get reconnected!   In Kundalini yoga we tend to use a lot of pranayama (breath work), particularly ‘breath of fire’ and this helps to heal the nervous system and gain even more out of a pose. This cultivates the feeling of expansion and relaxation with long, deep breathing. Also the breath work in some meditations can be such a useful tool to clear the psyche of old out dated patterning. The approach that I have to my own practice is the more I do the more I gain. It’s not necessarily about fixing things, its more about strengthening certain attributes like patience and the ability of letting go or focusing on one task at a time. That’s how I pick my set, be it fast or slow.

Having mainly studied the Chinese and Japanese meridian philosophies (which I still love), the chakra system was missing.  Kundalini yoga had it and this is one of the reasons why I was drawn to the practice of Kundalini.  Kundalini yoga also resonated with me on a feminine level; I have found Adi Shakti (divine mother) has been woven through everything I have learned throughout my journey.

It was only the other day, I found the Kriya to Master Your Domain on the internet. Now I see it in books that I’ve had for a while, it’s perfect timing for me to meet this Kriya. I feel stronger, more grounded mentally and physically.

My favorite asana is half lotus as it helps my body feel relaxed and I remind myself of a Buddha sitting on a lotus flower.

Written by Julie Fowler / Hari Kirtan
Jules teaches at Kundalini House on Thursday mornings from 9:30-11am

Please rate this post using the stars below. Your ratings will provide us a better understanding of  topics that are important to our readers.

We also wish to thank everyone for their continued support of Kundalini House and the Kundalini Houses Blog.  Sat Nam.

About kundalinihouseblog

Kundalini House is a popular Natural Health Clinic and Yoga Studio with dedicated and professional practitioners and teachers committed to health and the development of the true Self.
This entry was posted in Service Review, Yoga & Meditation, Yogic News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pranayama – a way to get connected!

  1. Pingback: Pranayama – a way to get connected! | kundalinihouseblog | Yoga - a Way of Life

Leave a Reply

